Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

External Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 lordLOVErocket80

lordLOVErocket80

    Brian Talbot

  • OWTB Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 08:06 AM

Just wondering is it possible to use a external hard drive on my tv? Ive just bought a WD Elements 1TB hard drive. It can connect to my tv via a USB port, but after loading a couple of music cd's on there it wont play. My tv has a built in media player, it shows the files but thats it. Ive played movies from a memory stick on the tv in past and thought this work the same way? Any help would be great.
  • 0

#2 BlueInAus

BlueInAus

    Danny Boshell

  • OWTB Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Shitty Australia
  • Team:Oldham Athletic

Posted 11 July 2011 - 08:52 AM

Just wondering is it possible to use a external hard drive on my tv? Ive just bought a WD Elements 1TB hard drive. It can connect to my tv via a USB port, but after loading a couple of music cd's on there it wont play. My tv has a built in media player, it shows the files but thats it. Ive played movies from a memory stick on the tv in past and thought this work the same way? Any help would be great.


I would say it would be a codec issue, but could also be a file system problem on the hdd. Let me know the make and model of your tv and i will have a look and see if it has any special requirements for you.
  • 0

The Internet King? I wonder if he could provide faster nudity…

loading.gif


#3 lordLOVErocket80

lordLOVErocket80

    Brian Talbot

  • OWTB Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:05 AM

Thanks my tv is a Sharp Aquos 32". A friend also said to try it through my xbox. I tried this but again it finds the hard drive but doesnt give me the option to play the music file.
  • 0

#4 BlueInAus

BlueInAus

    Danny Boshell

  • OWTB Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Shitty Australia
  • Team:Oldham Athletic

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:08 AM

Thanks my tv is a Sharp Aquos 32". A friend also said to try it through my xbox. I tried this but again it finds the hard drive but doesnt give me the option to play the music file.


I need the model number, will be written on the back of it.
  • 0

The Internet King? I wonder if he could provide faster nudity…

loading.gif


#5 lordLOVErocket80

lordLOVErocket80

    Brian Talbot

  • OWTB Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:14 AM

Model number LC-32DH500E
  • 0

#6 BlueInAus

BlueInAus

    Danny Boshell

  • OWTB Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Shitty Australia
  • Team:Oldham Athletic

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:42 AM

Model number LC-32DH500E


The TV does not guarantee that all external hard drives will be usable, and certainly none over 1TB.

Are the music files in MP3 format and not wma or something else?

If they are MP3, I would suggest formatting the hard drive and putting the files back on there. I would suggest using Disk Management (win) or Disk Utility (mac) and remove all partitions from the drive before formatting it as NTFS.
  • 0

The Internet King? I wonder if he could provide faster nudity…

loading.gif


#7 lordLOVErocket80

lordLOVErocket80

    Brian Talbot

  • OWTB Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:50 AM

Thanks. The files wma not mp3 and i was going to put some movies on there aswell. Do you know if i can use it through the xbox? Looks like my plan as gone to pot!!!
  • 0

#8 BlueInAus

BlueInAus

    Danny Boshell

  • OWTB Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:Shitty Australia
  • Team:Oldham Athletic

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:51 AM

Thanks. The files wma not mp3 and i was going to put some movies on there aswell. Do you know if i can use it through the xbox? Looks like my plan as gone to pot!!!


Just convert them to mp3, there are a heap of free programs that will do this. The movies should play fine, your TV supports a wide range of formats.
  • 0

The Internet King? I wonder if he could provide faster nudity…

loading.gif


#9 lordLOVErocket80

lordLOVErocket80

    Brian Talbot

  • OWTB Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 09:57 AM

Cheers for the help. I will try that. Thanks
  • 0

#10 Ackey

Ackey

    Neil Adams

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,080 posts
  • Location:London
  • Team:Oldham Athletic

Posted 11 July 2011 - 03:34 PM

Your xbox (old or 360) will be able to play AVI files no problem. We do it here at my house every day.

If that - for some obscure reason - doesn't work you can make your xbox a media player and play things off you pc/laptop - to which you could attach your external drive.
  • 0

#11 rummytheowl

rummytheowl

    Toddy Orlygsson

  • IT Support
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,374 posts
  • Location:Running
  • Team:AFC Wimbledon

Posted 11 July 2011 - 07:05 PM

I've got an LG TV with a USB port around the back, which is good for nothing unless it's activated. I could have an external hard drive attached if I activated the settings in the engineers menu. It requires a roll back of the TV's OS, ticking a few boxes and installing a new updated OS.

Download the OS's, put them onto a USB stick and...well here are the hacks... http://bit.ly/mTerMT

Playback usually is spot on with most of the regular containers: X-vid and Div-x are fine, most Matroska files will work too, and some MP4's and .mov files are okay.

Of course, you apply the hacks at your own risk and the usual guarantee bit goes out of the window too.
  • 0

btn_donate_SM.gif
Click on the PayPal button and please donate whatever you can to keep OWTB up and running, thanks - OWTB Admin Team