iPhone 5

Yard Dog

Just been given an iPhone 5 and will be using it for work.

Since smartphones came out, I've always been android. Had a HTC and then my Galxay S3, which I love - although it is a bit of a brick.

I'm not very tech savvy at all, but have tried to keep myself reasonably up to date with android stuff for my phones. But I know absolultely nothing about iphones, apple etc...never even used itunes other than to burn a few cds years back.

Any tips on the phone, IOS, useful/good apps etc would be really appreciated.

I do like it. Feels fast and smooth and simple. Annoying that there aren't really any widgets as such like my s3 running jelly bean. Also, do you honestly have to come out of what you're doing every time you want to go into settings? Settings can be accessed really easily from everywhere on the s3. Making calls is cumbersome too. On the s3 just swipe right on the name whenever you see it and the call is made.

The App Store, iTunes and podcasts are better than I expected. Very impressed with those.

Edited by Yard Dog

Also, do you honestly have to come out of what you're doing every time you want to go into settings? Settings can be accessed really easily from everywhere on the s3.

Double tap the home button brings up your recent or background running programs. If you use settings a lot it'll be there. But it's not exactly hard or slow to navigate there.

Apps wise?

iRadio - You can record full radio shows on this for playback later

Downcast - Great podcast management app. Much more superior to apple's native one.

Instagram - nice camera app with retro filters which syncs well with FB & twitter.

Apps I use regularly:

TweetBot - Twitter client

Kindle - read books (syncs with my Kindle) - handy for a half hour break in the gents toilets at work

Barclays Mobile - banking app

Naturespace - sort of new age stuff, great for trying to sleep on planes or trains

Clear - nicely designed to do list

Reeder - RSS feed reader