Even More Greedy League - New TV Deal

Lot of money that but it seems Sky and Setanta were having a bit of a bidding war. However, when the deal comes into play we may well still be in a recession and I wouldn't mind betting that for a lot of people if money's tight the first thing to go is the Sky Subscription- especially the sports bit which is extra. Sky having over paid for football since the second Premier League contract- the first seems good value now- will feel the pinch and may not have the money to pay for it. If we have a long term recession (which seems highly likely) then I could see football being a big casualty especially at the top end - Man U owe an awful lot of money and the banks may soon start wanting to collect. I'm not a financial expert but this seems very risky for Sky and Setanta and if I was a Premier league chairman I'd not want to spend the money just yet.

But the good news is... that pointless Setanta loses a lot of its coverage....

Well done Sky!

Sky Steals Setanta Rights

... ah well... at least theres still the SPL and non-league!

As Sky have been one of the biggest culprits of creating the current warped state of the football league structure in this country, I would like nothing more than to see them go to the wall. The way they hype up the Prem and give such meagre coverage to the football league (which basically consists of that berk of a presenter metaphorically tromboning Leeds United for an hour) continues to turn young fans away from their local teams and the football league and into their arm chairs where they can watch the over paid, uncommitted toss for far cheaper on tv.