ERIC GEMMELL - LEGEND

I was at school with his son Ian.

Eric was Latics' top scorer until Roger Palmer - and awarded the Dodger a trophy when his record went.

Seven goals in our 11-2 victory over Chester and a member of the Div 3 North championship team.

Edited by LaticsPete

Eric Gemmell was one of my early heros when I was a kid. I saw him score those seven goals, but he was not just a good goal scorer - he was a real old fashioned centre forward who led the line and was skilful at playing in others. And he was a good cricketer - played as a professional, I think, in the leagues for Levenshulme or Longsight.

2285807769_8a369103a2.jpg

The legendary Eric Gemmell
Picture courtesy of Stewart W. Beckett's book 'Keeping The Dream Alive'.

Extract from Garth Dykes’ book ‘Oldham Athletic Complete Record 1899-1988’ (updated).

Eric Gemmell’s Career:
Manchester City 25th March 1946.
Ashton United (loan) 1946-47.
Latics 24th June 1947 - 1954.
Crewe 20th February 1954.
Rochdale 25th September 1954.
Buxton 11th April 1956.
Nantile Vale (Wales) player-manager July 1960.

Tall and lithe, stylish and strong-shooting, Eric held Latics’ front line together splendidly and was the club’s highest aggregate goalscorer until overtaken by Roger Palmer. His remarkable feat of notching seven goals (six in succession) in the match against Chester on 19th January 1952 was the best individual performance in the Football League since Joe Payne obtained ten in one game for Luton in April 1936. Also cricket professional with the Levenshulme Club.

In the 1950-51 season Eric scored the first of his nine hat-tricks for the Club in the 4-1 victory against Stockport at Edgeley Park. The following season he scored 28 goals in 37 league appearances, including hat-tricks against Tranmere (home 3-0) Lincoln City (home 4-1) and Carlisle United (away 3-3).