Latics - the name as a trademark

I'm not an expert on trademark law - if there is someone who is can they respond to this? it appears that Wigwam have registered "Latics" as their trademark. Does this affect our club's ability to use it? It was registered in 2005 so perhaps not .

http://www.ipo.gov.uk/t-find-adp?propnum=0861180001

It seems that we have just registered a crest (you can search the website).

Edited by LaticsPete

It isn't really a problem. More than likely registered to ensure that they can take action (if necessary) against counterfeits probably mainly the ones for which there are huge markets overseas for Premiership clubs in particular. The legal process with trademarks can be such a long and drawn out affair (not to mention the fact that our use of the trademark happened before them) that they would never challenge the official club (ours) use of either.

We'd have heard by now if they did.

It isn't really a problem. More than likely registered to ensure that they can take action (if necessary) against counterfeits probably mainly the ones for which there are huge markets overseas for Premiership clubs in particular. The legal process with trademarks can be such a long and drawn out affair (not to mention the fact that our use of the trademark happened before them) that they would never challenge the official club (ours) use of either.

We'd have heard by now if they did.

Excellent.

Maybe we should register "Mud hutters" in return! :idea:

I'm not an expert on trademark law - if there is someone who is can they respond to this? it appears that Wigwam have registered "Latics" as their trademark. Does this affect our club's ability to use it? It was registered in 2005 so perhaps not .

it's because unlike our friends from the west of Bolton, we arent sell-outs